An Update on The Scam: The International Ecotourism Society.

A while ago I wrote about my bad experiences with The International Ecotourism Society (TIES). I wasn't sure if it was just my bad experience. I felt desperate and alone in my financial struggle.


Well, my last blog on TIES opened a can of worms.


Since this blog, I have been contacted by around 10 people now who have similar experiences to myself. I have unearthed a catalogue of problems.


I am honestly worried/ anxious/ scared talking about TIES in this manner. A journalist had their article uncovering problems with TIES shut down. And that fact stinks but makes me nervous.


However, with more recent people coming forward having fallen into the scam- I am HOPING by speaking out I can prevent more people handing money over to scam artists.


If you've had a bad experience with TIES and would like to have your story heard please contact: - hello@makingroots.co.uk.

We are hoping to pool together to start legal proceedings against TIES if indeed they don't come forward and refund us. I had not had a single reply from TIES for a year, however they did reply with contact emails last week. I won't hold my breath but I will update if the refund is successful.


For now I really recommend :

  • BE EXTREMELY DILIGENT when signing up and paying for anything with TIES.

  • Read this by the Global Ecotourism Network which formed from the board for TIES which resigned in 2014.... https://www.globalecotourismnetwork.org/faqs/?fbclid=IwAR3V_Jc8hBNu1yk7UgoYvWqgcwGCXVpo_I55aG3l4rUTsbsQOGqe306Jepc


If you've had a bad experience with TIES that is not just based on membership payments/ education, please get in contact also. I've found a number of strange circumstances that are being investigated also.


We are optimised for viewing on Desktop, via Safari & Chrome. If viewing on Mobile, or FireFox you might get some funky photo happenings.

Say hi at hello@makingroots.co.uk

© 2023 by Making Roots